MEETING | COVID-19 Research in Low- and Middle-Income Countries

29 & 30 March:

08:00 São Paulo | 13:00 Paris | 14:00 Nairobi | 16:30 New Delhi | 18:00 Bangkok
(4h, both days) 

In collaboration with the COVID-19 Clinical Research Coalition, the COVID CIRCLE  (a partnership by UKCDR & GloPID-R) presents “COVID-19 Research in Low- and Middle-Income Countries”.

This meeting will bring together global research funders, including those who are funding research on COVID-19 within low- and middle-income countries (LMICs), with the community of researchers who are actively undertaking this research across LMICs.

It is envisaged that sharing of information on progress, barriers and outstanding gaps between researchers, research funders and wider stakeholders will contribute to facilitating a collective effort to end COVID-19, while taking the tremendous indirect impact of the other health conditions and mortality into account in particular in LMICs, and leave no one behind.

Topics of discussion will include:

  • Clinical research
  • Health systems & indirect impacts of COVID-19
  • Transmission
  • One Health

 

View the detailed agenda

Meeting Objectives

  • Discuss emerging research findings and ongoing research activity on COVID-19 across low and middle-income countries (LMICs).
  • Identify important obstacles (including persistent research system gaps), and both unmet and emerging research priorities for COVID-19 in LMICs.
  • Identify what has worked and how to enable cross-setting learning for ongoing response & future research preparedness for epidemics.

 

Meeting recordings


Concept note

Please find the concept note here.

 

 

Date

29 March 2021 - 13:00
to
30 March 2021 - 17:00 CET
 

Event Category

Meeting