Responding to COVID-19 in Africa: The myths, the lessons, and the future 

At the start of the COVID-19 pandemic, the African continent was referred to as a ‘ticking time bomb’, with preliminary evidence indicating that existing health systems were too weak to withstand the strength of the outbreak. But months later, sub-Saharan Africa has so far averted the worst predictions, including the large-scale mortality seen in other parts of the world.

DNDi and the COVID-19 Clinical Research Coalition will jointly host a webinar to explore the role of research, innovation, and partnerships in African efforts to address the pandemic – bringing together panelists who have been at the forefront of the COVID-19 response to discuss their experience and share important lessons with the rest of the world.

Join us for an exclusive webinar moderated by:

  • Anne Soy, Deputy Africa Editor & Senior Correspondent, BBC

Featuring:

  • Dr John Nkengasong, Director, Africa CDC (Keynote)
  • Prof Steve Ahuka, COVID-19 response and Incident Manager for the 10th Ebola outbreak, DRC
  • Dr Borna Nyaoke-Anoke, Senior Clinical Project Manager & Medical Manager, DNDi, Kenya
  • Prof. Helen Rees, Executive Director, Wits Reproductive Health and HIV Institute​ (Wits RHI), South Africa & Steering Committee Member of the COVID-19 Clinical Research Coalition

The event takes place at 1:00-2:30pm GMT / 4:00-5:30pm EAT /  3:00-4:30pm SAST / 2:00-3:30pm WAT.

This event will be simultaneously translated to French.

Watch the recording:

Regardez en français

 

Date

02/11/2020 - 16:00 (EAT) to
- 17:30 (EAT)
 

Location

Online Event
 

Event Category

Webinar