Data Sharing

Working group objectives

  • to promote effective, ethical and equitable data sharing
  • to synthesis existing policies, guidance and good practice on data sharing by funders, journals and practitioners
  • to provide practical advice to researchers and data management teams on data sharing, including recommended language for broad consent for secondary use of data, recommendations for selecting repositories or platforms for data sharing, guidance on governance for data sharing and recommendations for developing data access agreements.


We encourage researchers who are seeking practical solutions to data sharing to contact us via the email address below.


Working group members

  • Ken Awuondo – Kenya Medical Research Institute (KEMRI)/Wellcome Trust Research Programme, Kenya
  • Susan Bull – Ethox, New Zealand
  • Phaik Yeong Cheah (Working Group Chair) – Mahidol Oxford Tropical Medicine Research Unit (MORU), Thailand
  • Greg Fegan – Swansea Trials Unit, Swansea University, UK
  • Philippe Guérin – Infectious Diseases Data Observatory (IDDO), France
  • Calvin Ho – Faculty of Law, Hong Kong University, Hong Kong
  • Oommen John – George Institute for Global Health, India
  • Sharon Kaur – Centre of Excellence for Biodiversity Law, University of Malaya, Malaysia
  • Lauren Maxwell – University of Heidelberg, World Health Organization, Germany
  • Laura Merson – Infectious Diseases Data Observatory (IDDO), UK
  • Brian Mutinda (Working Group Coordinator) – Mahidol Oxford Tropical Medicine Research Unit (MORU), Kenya
  • Duduzile Ndwandwe – Cochrane South Africa, South African Medical Research Council, South Africa
  • Francine Ntoumi – Fondation Congolaise pour la Recherche Médicale, Republic of Congo
  • Robert Terry – World Health Organization
  • Naomi Waithira – Mahidol Oxford Tropical Medicine Research Unit (MORU), Thailand
  • Helena Wilcox


If you are a researcher who would like to submit a query to the “Data Sharing” working group, please email with “Data Sharing” in your subject heading.

Other working groups